Few minutes ago I got the following email:
![]()
Information – Access Suspended
Dear Valued Absa Customer
In the last fews weeks, our Online Banking Security team has observed multiple logon attempts on your internet banking account from different blacklisted IP’s.For your safety we have decided to suspend your access. You will need to verify your identity.
Go straight to your Absa for procedures to follow:
Click Here to continue
ABSA Bank will not be responsible for loss of funds to online phishers as a result of failure to comply with this important new directives. We are committed to serving you better.
Security Management
Absa Bank Group
Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
For assistance, log in to your absa Online account and choose the “Help” link on any page.absa bank Email ID # 1009
Nice try but they made a few mistakes, first of sending it to one of my emails I never use for personal stuff and second the url to the page to enter the details.
Must say they did a great job at copying the layout, but lucky for me I know what to check out for on these types of scams.
Some tips to avoid being scammed if you are a Absa customer:
- Make sure the site you are accessing is https://ib.absa.co.za/ib/ib.jsp
- Absa will never ask you to update details over an email, if they do just ignore it.





I got the same mail just the other day and I immediately knew that it was a scam. The URL they want you to visit will always be tied to a domain name that has absolutely nothing to do with ABSA.
Got two mails this morning telling me this:
Dear customer,
We are currently performing regular maintenance of our security measures for online banking and customer databases.
We apologize for the inconvenience but your account was randomly selected for verification and you’ll be taken
through a short authentication process.
To start now Click: First National Bank Online authentication process.
- I’M NOT EVEN WITH STANDARD BANK NOR ABSA lol
There is a way to deal with this though. The registrars of those domains are able to block them. All you have to do is do a WHO IS search on these domains to find out who they registered it with.
One of the domains that this scam was tied to was GASAVEENERGY.COM
I bet you the company whoi this site belongs to doesn’t even exist. It’s a good front/ Cover up. OR hackers managed to hack into the domain and are using their URL to host their own scam files.